Territory Read – NT Book of the Year Awards

Submissions now open. Closing 5pm Friday 27 May 2016

Thanks to the generosity of Chief Minister Adam Giles and the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund, The NT Writers’ Centre is once again proud to present Territory Read – the search for the NT Book of the Year.

Since 2009, the awards have celebrated excellence amongst published authors residing in the NT. They draw national attention to NT writers and in the past have served to raise the profile of remote, regional and Indigenous voices. The awards take place biennially and this year, thanks to the generosity of Chief Minister Adam Giles, we are again pleased to open three categories.

Submissions are sought for the following awards:

Chief Minister’s Book of the Year Award:
For a published book across all genres by an NT resident.

Best Non-Fiction:
For a prose work other than fiction. Includes biography, auto-biography, creative non-fiction, history, philosophy and literary criticism by an NT resident.

Best Young Adult or Children’s Fiction:
For a published book in either genre by an NT resident. In the case of picture books, prize money will be split between the author and the illustrator.

The total prize money in 2016 is $9000.

Image: The Long weekend in Alice Springs, Craig San Roque & Josh Santospirito. 2014 Winner

For entry conditions and submissions, please visit:

28 April27 May 2016
Presented by