Our Board

Our Current Board, is a mix of continuing, co-opted and elected members following our 2020 Annual General Meeting. Board meetings are held on the 3rd Wednesday of each month excluding January. The Annual General Meeting is held in late April.

Penelope McDonald (Chair)

Penelope McDonald is a highly respected and seasoned filmmaker and executive whose roles have covered all aspects of writing, directing, financing, development, production and distribution.

She was the inaugural director of Screen Territory from 2004, the NT’s Government’s agency, and supported the development of a thriving screen industry across the Northern Territory.

Penelope now runs Chili Films and creates screen stories that entertain and inspire.

Barbara Clifford (GENERAL MEMBER)

Barbara Clifford has her own business (The Time Tamer). She is a time management strategist and stress management practitioner. She has a career background in film, theatre, hospitality and marketing with addition experience in event/project management, sales and business administration. Barbara is known for her training, coaching, online programmes, webinars, MC’ing and guest speaking.

Her professional experience has included contracts with small business, Not For Profits, Aboriginal Organisations, Media, Marketing, Aged Care, Universities, Health Services and Cruise Ships.

Edward Gould (SECRETARY)

Edward is a musician, composer and educator that has made Alice Springs his home since 2014. Edward graduated from the Victorian College of the Arts in 2009 with a Bachelor of Music (Honours) where he studied as a saxophonist. Ed was an active member of the Melbourne Arts scene, presenting work at the 2010 Next Wave Festival and Numerous Melbourne Fringe Festivals.

Since relocating to Alice springs, Ed has released music under his own name, co-founded Alice Sings, a local community choir which he continues to lead, and works as a music teacher in primary schools throughout the Northern Territory.


Lucy arrived in the NT in 1992 (Alice Springs in 1996) she has worked in various arts roles including at the Araluen Arts Centre, Desart and Arts NT. She is a former Director/ Manager of Tasmanian Regional Arts and RedHOT Arts and former board member of Regional Arts Australia and Watch This Space Artist Run Initiative.

For the last ten years she worked at the towns only public senior college, as a teacher in arts / media and Aboriginal studies. She has also managed their alternative education, vocational learning programs and been the schools curriculum coordinator / Assistant Principal.

A practicing artist she still makes art and participates in community arts projects where possible. “My passion and background is in community arts and education, I believe the arts can help to communicate powerful and at times difficult messages. Since 2000 I have supported Mparntwe (Alice Springs) custodians in raising awareness of sacred sites through projects including the Yeperenye Caterpillar Sculpture, Alice to Mpartnwe Sacred Sites tours and associated exhibitions and projects.”


KIM HOPPER (ASTC Representative)